STEM learning focuses on educating individuals of all ages — primarily school-aged children and teens — in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Integrating STEM learning into the curriculum is an important part of the modern education system because it helps to promote creative thinking and provides children and teens with essential skills they’ll need to succeed in the future.

It is important to introduce STEM learning as early as preschool to children of all genders. This engagement can be nurtured by allowing young girls to collaborate with their peers and giving them the freedom to select projects that interest them.

It’s never too early to introduce STEM learning into your child’s life. Throughout this guide, you will find several ways to help prevent your daughter from falling into the STEM gap, including activities, toys, curriculum, and more.

You can read more about this topic here:

LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce the five educators selected as finalists for the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year award.

“The ADE Office of Computer Science received many quality applications,” Anthony Owen, the state director of Computer Science Education, said. “This year’s applications were some of the most competitive we have seen in the three years of this award. Unfortunately, our team could only select five, and we selected the educators who best demonstrated both a long-term and ongoing commitment to, passion for, and impact on computer science education in Arkansas and the nation. These educators have earned and deserve this recognition.”

The 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year Finalists are as follows.

  • Carl Frank – Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
  • Ashley Kincannon – Lake Hamilton Junior High School (Lake Hamilton School District)
  • Kimberly Raup – Conway High School (Conway School District)
  • Stacy Reynolds – McGehee High School (McGehee School District)
  • Lauren Taylor – Dardanelle High School (Dardanelle School District)

Each finalist will receive a $2,500 award from the ADE Office of Computer Science. A panel of representatives from the ADE Computer Science Unit, the 2020 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year, external industry leaders, and other education experts will review the finalists’ applications and select the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year based on a rubric scoring system. The winner, who will be announced at a later date, will receive an additional $12,500 award.

(Courtesy of the Arkansas Department of Education, March 16, 2021)

We congratulate all winning finalists and participants for the Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year, and we thank all educators for their service!